The Big Show

So today is the day I’ve been dreading since mid February. The day I teach a lesson to my class with about half a dozen other teachers from across the country in the room observing me and observing my class. It’s giant facing time. I was feeling pretty good about the showdown this morning – I felt prepared and energized and ready to bring it on. As the time draws near it’s almost as if I can hear the giant’s footsteps approaching echoing deep thuds that seem to be saying “What if I’m not good enough? What if my kids misbehave? What if something goes dreadfully wrong? ” All the things my giant likes to whisper in my ear in the dark of night when I’m alone and my defenses are down. Fortunately I have my Max Lucado book with me “Facing Your Giants” – the book that inspired me and reminded me that we all have giants to face. Not as good as having my Bible (which I meant to grab – so I could search through during lunch for some courage) But trustworthy Mr. Lucado had some verses already prepared for me.


“I will never fail you. I will never forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Phil. 4:6

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.” Colossians 3:23

“Let the words of Christ, in all their richness, live in your hearts and make you wise. Use His words to teach and counsel each other.” Colossians 3:16

Each one of those verses seems to be whispering in my heart that I will get through this battle and be better for it. So I’m off to pray and eat and try not to stew about the giant’s footsteps. I’ll update later and let you all know how it went and what’s going on in my world.

3 thoughts on “The Big Show

Leave a Reply

