The Winds of Change

So there are only 14 days left in another school year. As things wind to a close and rooms begin to be packed up, once again next year will bring a new grade level and a new challenge. I’ve been a teacher for 12 years now and in that time I have taught every grade except kindergarten and done two years of special needs teaching. Usually my moves have not been by choice but because the principal has asked me to do something new. Three of my moves were by choice – that’s it. So this year, once again. my move is not by my choice – but I’m really looking forward to it. I have been asked to teach a multi-age class next year. It will be a fourth and fifth grade split. (We’ve had some huge budget cuts in our district and lost some teachers – so I’m thrilled to be keeping my job) I don’t have a clue what this is going to look like, yet, but I’m excited to be planning something new and facing a challenge. The principal says he chose me because of my experience in several grade levels, my creativity, and my strength in curriculum writing. All of that may be a load of BS to get me to be okay with the move…. but I’m going to take it as a compliment and look forward to planning for a new year. (Hey maybe this move will make it easier for me to stick it out a couple of more years)

In other news my WeeMan is home sick with mama today. He had a fever of 101.2 this morning. Not sure if it’s a tooth or an earache. We’ve got a doctor’s appt for this evening. In the meantime I’m just gonna enjoy a surprise day at home with him and all the extra cuddle time he’ll let me have.

One thought on “The Winds of Change

Leave a Reply

