Back in the Swing of it

Today was the first semi normal day since we’ve been back. WeeMan and I ventured out after breakfast in search of a strapless bra or one with the clear straps for me. (Yep – he was completely thrilled – not. Although he did have fun playing in the racks at Penney’s.) Three stores later – I tried Kmart and Walmart first – I finally found one in my size at JC Penney’s. Sigh! Apparently women who are “blessed” in the chest are supposed to either not wear sundresses (even though Old Navy sells super cute ones) or wear them with bra straps out (white trash style) I had bought two super cute sundresses while we were down south and was planning on wearing one tomorrow night to the Brooks and Dunn concert (hubby’s birthday present) I was about to give up and wear it with bra straps showing, but was relieved to find one.

Once we got home I threw together a lunch of leftover sloppy joes and started my bread dough. I’m hooked on this super easy and yummy recipe. I’m thinking I’ll be spending a couple of Saturdays a month baking once we go back to school. Here’s the recipe for anyone interested – trust me it’s really simple!

Simple Whole Wheat Bread
Ingredients
3 c warm water 5 cups all purpose flour
2 pkgs active dry yeast 3 tbsp butter, melted
1/3 c. honey 1/3 c. honey (this isn’t a typo you will need it twice)
1 tbsp salt 3 1/2 c whole wheat flour

Directions
1. In a large bowl mix warm water, yeast and 1/3 c. honey. Add 5 c. all purpose flour and stir to combine. Let set for 30 min or until big and bubbly.
2. Mix in 3 tbsp melted butter, 1/3 c. honey, and salt. Stir in 2 c whole wheat flour. Flour a flat surface and knead with whole wheat flour until not real sticky – just pulling away from the counter, but still sticky to the touch. This may take an additional 2 to 4 c. whole wheat flour. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to coat the surface of the dough. Cover with a dish towel and let rise in a warm place until doubled.
3. Punch down, and divide into 3 loaves. Place in greased loaf plans and allow to rise until dough has topped the plans by one inch.
4. Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 to 3o minutes; do not overbake. Lightly brush the tops of loaves with 2 tbsp melted butter or margerine when done to prevent crust from getting hard. Cool completely.

Seriously this bread is yummy!

Tomorrow I’m hoping to hit some garage sales in the morning. Then hubby and I will be leaving WeeMan with my mom while we head off to the city for the concert. Yaaay for a night out with my hubby!

2 thoughts on “Back in the Swing of it

Leave a Reply

