The Weekend in Review

The visit with the inlaws wasn’t as bad as I expected. In fact – I would say it went well. WeeMan had a great time playing with his cousin Ana. And to top it off we all got along well. My favorite part of the weekend though was on the way home. We stopped at a reststop in Michigan and let WeeMan out to stretch his legs. He spent some time helping me pick up acorns for a fall display here at home. He was so cute and so proud of himself every time he’d find another one to put in our bag. I was pretty surprised that once I showed him what we were looking for he only brought me acorns – not rocks or hickory nuts. He continues to amaze me daily.

We made it home yesterday evening- without blowing our entertainment budget. Today was spent on around the house stuff. Hubby watched WeeMan so I could hit the grocery store. I managed to get just about everything I needed between Dollar General, Family Dollar, and Kroger’s. I even have money left in the grocery envelope. Bonus! I carefully checked the pantry and went through my coupon book and the ads for Krogers before venturing out this morning. I love that I can download coupons to my Krogers card now. I ended up saving over $50 on groceries. I know some of you have done better – but hey I felt pretty good with myself. After lunch with WeeMan and hubby, WeeMan and I ran over to GW. They were having a 50% off sale toay from noon to 5. I managed to find hubby a pair of jeans for work, and a couple of pairs of dress pants for myself. I also found a couple of milk glass pieces that I’ve got some plans for. The find of the day was a Thomas the Train toy for WeeMan for 25 cents. When we got home, WeeMan played outside and I did some yard work. Then it was inside to do some housework and make some blueberry muffins while WeeMan played cars.

Back to work tomorrow. Hopefully the week will go by quickly. Friday is our 1861 Day – living history day for our kiddos. I’ve got my whole outfit put together now. I’m actually looking forward to spending the day in hoops. (Guess I’m a kid at heart I still like to play dress up!) Thursday WeeMan and I are going to go over to a friend from church’s house to help her make laundry soap. WeeMan will get to play with her little boy so it’s a win win situation.

2 thoughts on “The Weekend in Review

Leave a Reply

