Yummy in my tummy

Last night for dinner I decided to try out a new recipe from my Kraft Food and Family magazine. I confess I was a little apprehensive about certain aspects and I wasn’t sure what my picky hubby would think of it… but I figured worst that would happen is I would have a ton of left overs. I did adapt the recipe a bit, but it was super easy and FAST!

Cheeseburger Chowder
1 lb ground beef
1 onion
2 cans chicken broth
1 can diced tomatoes
2 tbsp flour
12 ounces Velveeta

Brown the ground beef with the onion in soup pot or dutch oven. Drain. Stir in 2 tbsp flour and 2 tbsp butter. Cook for 2 minutes. Add 2 14.5 oz cans of chicken broth and 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes undrained. Stir and continue to heat until heated through. Add 12 oz. Velveeta. Heat until melted.

Now here’s where I dressed it up some – I added mushrooms while browning the ground beef and onions. I also added bacon bits to the top when serving. The recipe calls for adding a spoonful of relish to the top, but I’m not a fan of relish. Hubby tried it and said it was good. Sounds gross, but maybe next time I’ll give it a try too.

Leave a Reply

