Captivating


Tonight was the first night for our new women’s small group. We’re going to be reading “Captivating” . This will be the second time through for me. I was in a small group over three years ago and we read this book. That was the point in my life when we were just beginning our infertility roller coaster and this book and that lovely group of women helped me through those early days. I am continuously amazed at how God works in my life. I’ve been struggling with my faith and my infertility and my humanness lately and I had decided I needed to re-read the book had gotten as far as pulling it off my bookshelf and then a friend from church sent me an email about this small group starting up and I knew God was watching over me and knowing what my heart needed once again. I think this small group will be a blessing. I’m looking forward to getting to know a new group of ladies and discover more about myself and my relationship with God.

Last night I finished reading this book. While it was a good book it was a rough read for me. The plot was about a marriage that was falling apart due to the couple’s infertility and their inability to cope together. I couldn’t put the book down because the story was good and because I needed to know what happened and how they made it through. It was also a good reminder for me of the blessing I have in my husband who stood beside me through everything. All of the stuff we had to go through to have our son brought us closer together and strengthened our marriage. I probably wouldn’t recommend this book – like I said it was good but not great and it was more of a trainwreck read. I had to keep reading to see what happened – not because I wanted to but because I couldn’t look away.

I’m glad the week is half over. Two more days to make it through. I have to be observed on Friday teaching a math lesson. Blegh! I hate being observed. Nothing big planned for tomorrow. I’m planning on trying a new recipe for pizza dough tomorrow night. We’re having friends over Friday night for pizza and games. Then Saturday we’re off to Halloween at the zoo.

Leave a Reply

