The Back up Plan

I’m home today with my WeeMan. While I’m thrilled to be hanging out at home with him, I know I’ve got to find a back up sitter. Our sitter called this morning at 5:30 to let me know her little girl was puking and had diarrhea. She probably has the same thing one of the boys had last week – which means WeeMan has been exposed… but hoping we get lucky and don’t get it – so I couldn’t bare to take him to the sitter’s house anyway. Plus I’d hate for her to have to split her time with her little girl sick. So at 5:30 in the morning I pulled WeeMan out of bed and hurried in to school to throw together some sub plans and copy some work for the kiddos. Those of you who think being a teacher is easy b/c we get snow days and summer break – have no idea what it’s like to have to miss work as a teacher. It’s honestly more work to stay home than it is to be there. I’ll be dealing with all sorts of silly issues tomorrow. Sigh. I’ve really got to get a back up sitter. We don’t have any family here in town and all of my friends work days – I’m going to have to start calling the church girls and seeing if any of them could take him on a moment’s notice.

On the bright side I’ve had the joy of spending the day in sweats, cuddling on the couch during a thunderstorm, sharing a bowl of mac and cheese, and laughing at Pixar shorts with my favorite little WeeMan. It’s hard to stay irritated after a day like that!

One thought on “The Back up Plan

  1. There is so much to think about when you're a working Mom isn't there. Hope WeeMan doesn't catch what she had. Then you would have to take another day off for him.

Leave a Reply

