Feeling Better Already

I went to my first Weight Watcher’s Meeting last night.  I was pleasantly surprised.  First of all it was PACKED.  If I want to just blend in with the crowd, I would easily be able to do that.  Second of all there were women there around my age.  It was not the older ladies social group I remembered.  The leader seems really nice and down to earth ( in other words she doesn’t seem to be one of those peppy cheerful people always on – do you know the type I’m talking about)

I even managed to do okay on my points yesterday – in spite of needing to make a carry in meal.  I need to find some sources for lower fat casseroles though!  The ones we all make for carry ins are full of fat and carbs.  Any suggestions for good cookbooks?  I have a Weight Watcher’s cookbook already, but there’s not many recipes that look like the kind of food hubby and weeman will enjoy eating and I don’t want to have to cook two meals every night – that would burn me out on this pretty quick.  I think I’ll do some searching on Amazon. 

Tonight I’m going to try Zumba.  I’m not very coordinated, so we’ll see how it goes.  At least one of the other girls I work with is going with me and it’s her first time too.  Maybe we can be uncoordinated and slow together. 

On the really bright side my blood pressure was back to normal yesterday.  It’s up a bit today, but not nearly as up as it was on Saturday.  I’m going to keep chugging my water.  (I made it through at least 2 liters yesterday and am working on the second liter today) Hopefully that will help get my system cleaned out.  I think part of the problem may be I ate peanuts last night – the good salty kind.  What can I say I like my salt.

3 thoughts on “Feeling Better Already

  1. You can do it! I did weight watchers for a year in '00 and lost 47 with them and started to teach. I taught in Muncie. I will be your cheerleader whenever you need one! hugs, Cheryl

  2. Zumba sounds fun!! I'd love to try! Hope you had fun! I need to get back to my Weight Watchers a bit. I love it b/c it helps to change your life, not just make you lose the weight and then gain it back: makes you understand the caloric/fat amounts of foods. Now, I need to just find where I put my points sheet. :S

  3. I'm so proud of you! WW worked for me – I lost about 40 pounds with it. My biggest help was the exercising! We bought a used treadmill and put it in front of a TV and DVD player in the basement. Everyday I work out for 45-60 minutes while watching a TV show. Another secret is portion control. Enjoy a small portion of the main dish and have a huge healthy salad. You can do this girlfriend – if I can – you can! 🙂

Leave a Reply

