Upheaval

We’re in the middle of some upheaval and turmoil here.  My hubbies great aunt – the one we love to visit in Alabama is in the nursing home.  We thought she was just going in for some rehab and then would be moving to an apartment.  Unfortunately, she’s not making progress and it’s believed she is in the beginning stages of Alzheimers.  Our hearts are aching up here in Indiana because we can’t be with her down there in Alabama.  We’re hoping to go down as soon as I get out of school except hubby can’t get the time off.  He’s too low in seniority – which by the way is crazy since he has 14 years in.  He’s been told he can take a leave without pay and that’s probably what we’re going to end up doing.  It’s either that or wait until his plant has shutdown at the beginning of July.  In the meantime I’m putting together cards and letters every week to send to her.  We hate that she’s down there by herself.  Hubby’s parents are going down sometime this month and so are their brother’s and sisters.  But it’s still not the same.  Please say a prayer for her and for hubby.  It’s tearing him up that he can’t be down there.  She has been like a granma to him and she loves our WeeMan so. 

The other area of upheaval is my work.  Last night the schoolboard voted to close one of the elementary schools and a middle school in our county.  My best friend got RIFed and probably won’t be coming back.  She’s only been working in corp for 2 years.  Fortunately my school will not be closing but there’s going to be a lot of moving people around to make spots for the teachers at the closing schools.  Everything for next year will be up in the air – possibly until July.  My principal has reassured me several times that I will  be fourth grade next year, but with him being the lowest ranking principal – I’m a bit concerned he may not be at liberty to make that decision.  Please keep all of our teachers and students in your prayers while all this movement is going on.  It came as quite a shock.  Everyone thought a decision would be made and then there would be a year before acting on it, but that’s not the case.

As far as weight watcher’s goes, I’m down 3 more pounds.  That puts my total at almost 10 pounds.  I’d love to hit my 5% mark next week. (5% would be 11 pounds.)  Honestly I think it’s getting harder.  The novelty is wearing off or something.  I miss being able to eat what I want when I want.  But I keep telling myself that if this helps us have a baby it will be more than worth it. 

3 thoughts on “Upheaval

  1. Thinking of you and hubby and hubby's aunt. And all of your teacher friends. Sometimes life is hard and just plain sucks. GOOD JOB on your WW journey! I am proud of you for ten pounds. xo, Cheryl

  2. I pray that his will be done.Sounds as if you have so many changes going on in your life since I last stopped by.I think its great that you are still working hard on your weight watchers! Just wanted to stop by and let offer a little encouragement.See you next post~Meme

Leave a Reply

