Keeping my mind busy

Thank God for my friends and my family.  They help me keep my mind busy so it gets a break from worrying.  Today WeeMan and I ventured to the city with my friend M and her daughter El.  We stopped at the local farmer’s market – yummy sweet corn and tomatoes! Then it was on to the city.  I did think to load up my totes of WeeMan’s nice outgrown clothes and stopped by Once Upon a Child to drop them off and then we made our way to the zoo.  It ended up being a good day.  When we first arrived it was overcast – which kept it from being too miserable and it wasn’t too crowded.  By the time the kids had visited the farm, Australia, played in the fountain, and ridden ponies the crowd had picked up and the sun had come out.  We decided to call it a day around 1:30 after stopping in the  African Veldt to see the lions and feed the giraffes. 

We grabbed lunch at Steak and Shake – hey after all that walking I deserved a treat! Then we stopped by Once Upon a Child. They had found a totes worth of things to buy for $70 in store credit. So I blew through $50 of it today – mostly on my niece for her birthday, but WeeMan walked away with a few things. His favorite being a Fisher Price Imaginext T-Rex for $6.50. I found it on Amazon for $64 when we got home! My favorite find for him was a pair of Converse All Star Chuck Taylor’s with skulls in a black and grey design. Super Cute!!
Plans for the rest of the weekend to keep me busy are church tomorrow and then I’m trying out a 2 week cycle from the  Once A Month Family Favorites Cook Book
Once-A-Month Cooking Family Favorites: More Great Recipes That Save You Time and Money from the Inventors of the Ultimate Do-Ahead Dinnerti
I’m pretty impressed so far.  It lays out your shopping list and your prep for the cycles meals step by step, and the meals seem to be things my picky family will eat.  This cycle is a lot of chicken dishes and I’m trying to adapt them so they are Weight Watcher’s Friendly.  The best part is I was able to pick up most of the ingredients at Aldi’s for under a $100 and the rest I got at Krogers for around $30.  Should help me stick to the food budget since it will definitely last us longer then 2 weeks.  A lot of the meals serve 6 or 8 – so I’ll divide them when I freeze them then I can space them out and we’re not eating a ton of leftovers.  Hubby even helped me with some of the chopping tonight! I was super surprised by that!
2 thoughts on “Keeping my mind busy

  1. Weeman is too cute! Wish you could bring him here for pony rides n lemonade! I keep meaning to try batch cooking. I'm going to check out that book – thanks! Hope you sleep deep and hand your worries to God. Everything's gonna work our just right.xoxoLeslie

Leave a Reply

