Celebrate!!

WooHoo!!  I went to Weight Watchers tonight and got some awesome news.  I was down 3.6 more pounds in just a week.  Guess that instrument of torture – aka the elliptical is paying off for me.  (I found a used one for a hundred dollars last week)  I can only do 10 minutes right now…. but that’s 10 more minutes than I was doing.  I’m less than 5 pounds from my next goal and I haven’t even rewarded myself with my pedi for my first goal.  I just keep telling myself lose the weight and maybe by spring we’ll be expecting a miracle or we’ll be gearing up to go back to Dr. B.  Plus it’s nice to feel so much healthier.  I can dance around the kitchen with my weeman and not get winded.  We’ve been boogying to the “Footloose” soundtrack while I clean and make dinner.  I’m hoping by Christmas to be down another 10 pounds at least.  Should be easily doable.

In other news I started reading “Kisses from Katie” after reading about it on FlowerPatch Farmgirl’s blog.  (Have I mentioned how much I look up to her?)  The book is wonderful.  I’ve only made it through the introductions and the first couple of chapters and I’m hooked. 

               “It may take place in a foreign land or it may take place in your backyard, but I believe
                 we were each created to change the world for someone. To serve someone. To love
                 someone the way Christ first loved us, to spread His light. This is the dream, and it is
                possible. Some days it is excruciatingly difficult, but the blessings far outweigh the
                hardships.”

This book is reminding me why I choose to teach in the poorest most struggling school in our county.  Almost 80% of our school qualifies for free or reduced lunch.  Many of our kids come from broken homes and face challenges in their day that I wouldn’t have dreamed of at their age.  If I can make a difference to even one of them.  If I can show them love and let them know that they are valued by someone.  Well then I’ve done my job.  Sometimes as a teacher I get so overwhelmed by all the stuff, the paperwork, the struggle to meet state requirements, the expectations, the overwhelming hopelessness of it all – I just forget that I didn’t become a teacher so I could do my paperwork perfectly or prove to any of my peers that I’m good at my job.  I became a teacher because I wanted to make a difference for one. 

                       “I sit here freezing and wet in this pitch-black room as the rain beats on teh roof
                        and God is so close I feel I can touch Him.  My deepest prayer is that I could
                        know the Lord as well as the first grader next to me.  All my senses are full of
                        His greatness. God’s glory has fallen down into this place and is soaking us even
                        deeper than the rain, I never ever want to be dry.”

This book is incredible and amazing and life changing.  Seriously.
Check it out!
                  

4 thoughts on “Celebrate!!

  1. Mama, I love the elliptical because it doesn't hurt as bad as the treadmill. I am so stinkin' proud of you! Oh, don't you just love Shannan? I do. She teaches me every post. Challenges me to think and reach down deep. xo, Cheryl

Leave a Reply

