Feels Like Home

We’re ready to welcome fall here.  Something about this time of year just resonates with me.  I’ve been struggling lately with work, family, weight, hope, church, and life in general… but something finally seems to be clicking and I feel like I’m beginning to find my feet again.  I think partly it’s the time of year – fall has always been my favorite season.  I love the colors, the smell, the harvesting and storing away for winter.  I love the nip in the air and the unexpected beauty.  
Today I also know that part of the feeling of home – of the world beginning to be right again comes from our church travels.  We’ve struggled so with our feelings about church and I know it’s carried over into my heart with God.  But we’ve been going to a new church for the last month.  Today something about the service hit me right in my heart.  We took communion today – I grew up in a church where we took communion every Sunday and I honestly feel like that was a large part of my problem with our old church.  We hadn’t had a communion service in a LONG time and our pastor didn’t really place much importance on taking communion – at least that’s how it felt.  The church we’ve been going to is a United Brethren church and I know they don’t take communion as often as my growing up church – but today’s service reminded me so much of my dad.  There was a reverence there in the simple act that I just hadn’t felt in such a long time.  It brought tears to my eyes and my heart to it’s knees as I turned to God and begged Him to forgive me for turning away in the past few months.
And so with the approach of fall and the promise of a new church home – I feel like my world is finally at peace.
I have this song stuck in my head tonight.  

It feels like home to me, it feels like home to me
It feels like I’m all the way back where I come from
It feels like home to me, it feels like home to me

It feels like I’m all the way back where I belong
And now for some random WeeMan shots to wrap up the weekend 
Asleep with an apple wedge in his mouth

Joy

Cousins

Getting so big!

3 thoughts on “Feels Like Home

  1. I'm glad you've found a new church home. I grew up in the Church Of The Brethren and I'm always comparing other churches to it. It seems like what you learned as a kid in church is what makes it feel like home.

Leave a Reply

