Wake Up

A friend shared this video on their Facebook page today. I’d never seen it or heard the song before today – and oh my goodness what a wake up call.

I’m taking a step back and looking at my life.  I need to do exactly what this part of the song says.  I’ve let myself get so sucked into the life that I’ve not made time for the One who gave me life.


Take a break from all the plans that you have made, 
and sit home alone and wait for God to whisper


Beg him please to open his mouth and speak 
and pray for real upon your knees until they blister
Shine the light on every corner of your life
 until the pride, and lust, and lies are in the open
Then read the word and put to test the things you’ve heard
 until your heart and soul are stirred and rocked and broken


And this part too made the breath catch in my throat and my mind to begin to wonder.  Have I made an idol out of my hope and my dreams for more children?  Have I gotten so busy wishing and wanting and longing that I forgot to praise God for what I do have? Am I putting my wants and desires before the plans God has for me?  

Clear the stage, make some space, for the one who deserves it


Anything I put before my God is an idol
Anything I want with all my heart is an idol
Anything I can’t stop thinking of is an idol
And anything that I give all my love is an idol
Cause I can sing all I want to, yes I can
Sing all I want to 
And we can sing all we want to
And we can Sing all we want to 
We can sing all we want to and still get it wrong, 
Worship is more than a song

So I’m not sure what the future holds, but I’m going to hit my knees and pray for God to hold the future – one step at a time we’re going forward and I’m going to allow myself to be broken and to trust the One who can put the pieces back together.

Last night we finished up the second class in our adoption journey.  Wednesday we go to the city for the third class and then there will only be one to go.  After that class is finished it’s a matter of the home study and getting our paperwork in order.  I’m letting go of the future I thought I was going to have and trying to follow God into the future He had planned all along.
3 thoughts on “Wake Up

Leave a Reply

