Home

I’m home for the next few days with a sick little man.  WeeMan has RSV.  There’s not a lot we can do for him at this point.  They gave him an antibiotic shot at the doctor’s office this morning and my poor baby screamed.  I winced for him.  The needle was as large as the ones hubby had to use to inject me in my bottom when we were trying to get pregnant.  It seemed so unfair to put something that big in his little thigh.  I just pray the doctor is right and it goes to work on him right away.  Other than that we are alternating tylenol and advil to keep the fever down and I keep pushing water and juice on him.  He’s absolutely miserable and it breaks my mommy heart to not be able to do anything to fix him.  I’m thankful that I teach with some amazing people who are willing to jump in and help me with sub plans for the next two days.  I’ve got my mom on stand by in case we need to stay home at the end of the week too.

On the bright side of life our tree is up and most of the gifts are wrapped (just need to do hubby’s when he’s out playing tomorrow night but I’m not quite finished buying his yet.)  Now I can just enjoy the Christmas season I hope.  I’ve been shopping for gifts for the nieces and wee man since this summer.  I’ll be honest quite a few of them are second hand but in great shape, so I know the kiddos won’t mind. The ones that aren’t second hand were either on sale or even better on clearance.  I feel like for the most part we were able to save some money this Christmas.  Sometimes I think shopping early works against me b/c I lose track of what I’ve spent and what I’ve bought – but this year I seem to have done okay.   The main thing I have left to buy are all gift cards and I’ll be picking those up at Kroger so we get the gas points.  (FYI right now they are giving you 4 times the points on gift cards – so every $25 gift card ends up being 100 points. )

I’ve been trying to do a better job of planning our menu and making things from scratch.  I’ll be honest – I got the menu thing down, but the scratch cooking is another issue.  I know it will be so much healthier for us, it’s just a matter of putting my mind to it and doing it.  Tomorrow I’m going to work on muffins for the freezer for quick breakfasts.  I’m also being more conscious of using our leftovers up.  If I don’t think we’re going to eat them right away I stick them in the freezer for later.  I don’t know what it is about winter, but I always get the urge to cut costs and live more frugally in the winter.  (If only I could keep it up the rest of the year!)

So that’s what’s going on in my world.  What’s new with you?

Leave a Reply

